Feb 21, 2020 08:00 Asia/Tehran [Updated: Feb 21, 2020 13:01 Asia/Tehran]

Iran (IP) - The elections for Iran's 11th parliament and Assembly of Experts kicked off on Friday 21 February 2020.

Iran Press/Iran news: Millions of Iranians are casting their votes to elect new MPs for the 290-seat parliament as well as members of the Assembly of Experts.

Polling stations in 207 constituencies across Iran opened at 8:00 am local time. After the polls close, counting will begin straight away. 

Nearly 58 million people are eligible to vote on preselected lists of candidates for Iran's 11th parliamentary elections.

The Iranian Parliament, officially known as the Islamic Consultative Assembly, is a 290-seat legislative body with 207 constituencies. Its members are elected every four years, and former and current members can be re-elected.

On the other hand, the Assembly of Experts of the Leadership is a deliberative body of 88 theologians tasked with choosing the Leader of the Islamic Republic of Iran. Members of the assembly are elected every eight years.


Read More:

Iran’s 11th Round of Parliamentary Elections to kick off in hours

FM Zarif: Friday elections will show Iranians will not surrender

Iranian Interior Minister visits election Headquarters

Political structure of Iran is based on will of its people: Top election official

Follow Iran Press on Twitter