UEFA has announced the top three nominees for their Men’s Player of the Year award, and two Bayern Munich players make the cut. Robert Lewandowski and Manuel Neuer and they are joined by vaunted Carabao Cup champion Kevin De Bruyne.

Iran Press/Europe: Kevin De Bruyne is on the three-man shortlist for the 2019/20 UEFA Men's Player of the Year award. UEFA.com analyses why he is in the running alongside Robert Lewandowski and Manuel Neuer.

His fellow professionals' choice as Player of the Year in England in 2019/20, De Bruyne is creator-in-chief for a Manchester City side who finished as the UEFA Champions League's third-highest scorers the last term.

Here’s the rest of the top 10 (via uefa.com):

4. Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain) - 53 votes each

6. Thomas Müller (Bayern) - 41 votes

7. Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain) - 39 votes

8. Thiago Alcántara (Bayern) - 27 votes

9. Joshua Kimmich (Bayern) - 26 votes

10. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus) - 25 votes

This award is handed out by European soccer’s governing body and is based on players’ performances in UEFA club competitions and their own domestic leagues. The winner will be announced on Oct. 1 during the Champions League group stage draw ceremony, along with a host of other awards such as coach of the year and positional award winners.


Read More:

Luis Suarez to transfer to Atletico Madrid

Iran's Jahanbakhsh man of match Brighton, Portsmouth