Tehran(IP): Mohammad-Bagher Ghalibaf was re-elected as the Parliament Speaker.

Iran Press/Iran news: During an open session of the Parliament on Tuesday morning, the MPs voted to choose members of the legislature’s presiding board.

Mohammad-Bagher Ghalibaf was elected as the Parliament Speaker by garnering 198 votes out of 287.

The Iranian parliament currently has 290 representatives, changed from the previous 272 seats.

Also, in the second official session of the 12th session of the Islamic Consultative Assembly, Hamidreza Haji Babaei and Ali Nikzad were elected as the first and second vice presidents of the Iranian Parliament, respectively.

The 12th round of Iran's parliament is inaugurated by the attendance of 276 parliamentarians on May 27, 2024.

The 11th parliament kicked off on May 27, 2020, after parliamentary elections were held across Iran in early March that year.

Also, many foreign and Iranian dignitaries attended the event.