IP- Russia on Saturday announced retaliatory sanctions on 13 current and former UK officials, including Prime Minister Boris Johnson, Foreign Secretary Liz Truss, and Defense Secretary Ben Wallace.

Iran PressEurope: In the early hours of the morning of Thursday, February 24, Russian President Vladimir Putin announced military operations in the Donbas region of eastern Ukraine, including the Luhansk and Donetsk regions, to support Russians in those areas and address Moscow's security concerns. The US with its allies in the EU has imposed new sanctions on Russia.

Moscow in response has banned top several UK cabinet members and politicians from entering Russia over "unprecedented hostile action by the British Government, in particular the imposition of sanctions against senior Russian officials" for the war on Ukraine, said a Russian Foreign Ministry statement.

Read More:

Russia: Shutdown of European embassies in Moscow not on agenda

“This step was taken in response to London’s unbridled information and political campaign aimed at isolating Russia internationally, creating conditions for controlling our country and strangling the domestic economy,” the ministry said.

Accusing the UK of deliberately aggravating the situation in Ukraine by sending deadly weapons and coordinating similar efforts in NATO, It said London's provocations forced its Western allies and other countries to impose large-scale anti-Russian sanctions.

Moscow's entry blacklist also includes Deputy Prime Minister Dominic Raab, former Prime Minister Theresa May, and Scotland’s First Minister Nicola Sturgeon.

Read More:

Ukraine says 2,500-3,000 of its troops killed in war, no count of civilian deaths

Putin says Europe still needs Russian gas as Moscow turns east

Marine Le Pen opposes sanctions on Russian oil