Officials in three European countries Sweden, Poland and Germany have reacted to the expulsion of their diplomats from Russia, stating they reservee the right to reciprocate.

Iran Press/Europe: The Swedish Foreign Ministry, confirming the expulsion of its diplomat, considered this action completely unjustifiable and reserved the right to take appropriate measures.

The Polish Foreign Ministry also announced that Warsaw would expel a Russian diplomat in response to Moscow's action.

German Chancellor Angela Merkel condemned Moscow's decision calling it unjustifiable and a step away from the rule of law.

The German chancellor emphasized that her country does not rule out the possibility of sanctions in response to the expulsion of diplomats.

On Friday, Russia's foreign ministry said that Moscow had expelled three German, Polish and Swedish diplomats who had taken part in illegal rallies in support of Alexei Navalny.

According to the Russian Foreign Ministry, the three diplomats who are considered persona non-grata will leave the country soon.

The decision follows talks between Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov and EU foreign policy chief Joseph Borrell, who is visiting Moscow for the first time.

At a joint news conference with Sergei Lavrov on Friday, Joseph Borrell called for Navalny to be released.

A Moscow court sentenced Russian opposition leader Alexei Navalny to 3.5 years in prison on Tuesday on charges of violating security. 219