Russia, France and US issue joint statement on Nagorno-Karabakh agreement

The Minsk Group called on Armenia and the Republic of Azerbaijan to abide by their commitments under the November 10 agreement on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict.

Iran PressEurope: On Thursday, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, US Deputy Secretary of State Stephen Biegun and French Foreign Minister Jean-Yves Le Drian issued a joint statement urging Armenia and Azerbaijan to abide by the agreement and seize the opportunity to resolve their differences through negotiation. 

"All terrorists and foreign mercenaries must be expelled from Nagorno-Karabakh, and Baku and Yerevan must assist in this process," the Minsk Group leaders said in the statement.

The three countries called on the parties to the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict to abide by international human rights law, in particular the exchange of prisoners and the return of bodies.

They also stressed the importance of providing conditions for the voluntary, safe and secure return of individuals and migrants to the Nagorno-Karabakh region.

The Minsk Group leaders stressed the importance of protecting the cultural, historical and religious heritage of Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding areas, and called on Yerevan and Baku to work with international organizations to fulfill their commitments in these areas.

A new round of clashes between the Republic of Azerbaijan and Armenia in the Nagorno-Karabakh region resumed on September 27, killing and injuring thousands on both sides.

On 10 November, through the mediation of Russia, Armenia and the Republic of Azerbaijan agreed to end the war in Nagorno-Karabakh. 219