Asian online chess: Australia men triumph

The Australia men's team claimed a 4.5-3.5 win over India to win the gold on Sunday.

Iran PressAsia: In the men’s final, the defeats suffered by B Adhiban and S P Sethuraman at the hands of Anton Smirnov and Max Illingworth in the first match proved crucial as they went down 1.5-2.5.

The experienced K Sasikiran pulled one back for India, beating James Morris, while Nihal Sarin settled for a draw against Temur Kuybokarov.

The second match of the summit clash saw India and Australia share honors at 2-2.

Captain Surya Sekhar Ganguly, who replaced Sethuraman, beat Illingworth but Kuybokarov canceled out the advantage by beating Sarin.

The two other games featuring Adhiban and Sasikiran ended in draws thus handing the Aussies the top prize.

Read more:

Asian online team chess: Iran eliminated, lost to Australia