Climate change recognizes 2021 Nobel Physic Prize winners

2021 Nobel Prize in physics has been awarded to trio scientists whose efforts in scientific life led to a better understanding of climate change and decoding complex physical systems.

Iran PressSci & Tech: Japanese-born American Syukuro Manabe, German Klaus Hasselmann, and Italian Giorgio Parisi won the 2021 Nobel Prize for Physics on Tuesday for work that helps understand Complex Physical Systems such as Earth's changing climate.

One-half of the prize, worth 10 million Swedish crowns ($1.15 million), goes in equal parts to Manabe, who is 90, and Hasselmann for modeling earth's climate and reliably predicting global warming.

The other half goes to Parisi to discover "hidden rules" behind seemingly random movements and swirls in gases or liquids.

"Complex Systems are characterised by randomness and disorder and are difficult to understand," the Swedish Academy of Sciences said in a statement. "This year's Prize recognises new methods for describing them and predicting their long-term behaviour."

Manabe is now at Princeton University in the United States, Hasselmann at the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology in Hamburg, Germany, and Parisi at the Sapienza University of Rome.

Physics is the second Nobel to be awarded this week after Americans David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian won the prize for medicine on Monday to discover receptors in the skin that sense temperature and touch.


Read More:

Windows 11, out and ready for download

Apple among world's largest videogame companies

Flyby of Mercury done for 1st time