IP - Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina Wajed appeared to be swept back for a fifth consecutive term in power as her Awami League party won an overwhelming majority in the general elections with 223 seats in the 300-seat Parliament.

Iran PressAsia: The main opposition in Parliament, the Jatiya Party, got 11 seats, Bangladesh Kallyan party won in one constituency while independent candidates came out victorious in 62 seats. Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal and the Workers Party of Bangladesh won one seat each.

Hasina, 76 also the president of Awami League, won the Gopalganj-3 constituency in a landslide victory, her eighth term as a Member of Parliament.

Hasina, who has been ruling the strategically located South Asian nation since 2009, secured a record fourth consecutive term and fifth overall term in the one-sided election, which witnessed the second-lowest turnout since the restoration of democracy in 1991.

The turnout in Sunday's election was 27.15 percent at 3:00 pm, but after voting closed at 4:00 pm, the Election Commission estimated the final tally could stand at around 40 percent, a 13 percent jump in an hour. With this win, Hasina is poised to become the longest-serving prime minister in Bangladesh since independence.

The BNP and 15-odd like-minded parties boycotted the polls, claiming a free and fair election could not be held under Hasina. With backing from the US-led Western world, they had demanded that a caretaker government conduct the polls.


Opposition parties strike for resignation of PM of Bangladesh