In a draw that happened in Doha on Thursday, May 11, 2023, Iran's National Football Team known as 'Team Melli' have been drawn with Hong Kong, United Arab Emirates, and Palestine in Group C for the AFC Asian Cup 2023.

Iran PressMiddle East: Three-time winners Islamic Republic of Iran, 1996 runners-up United Arab Emirates, Hong Kong, China, and Palestine will vie for the knockout stage spots in Group C while record four-time winners Japan, Indonesia, 2007 champions Iraq and Vietnam were drawn in Group D.

Twice champions Korea Republic, the top-seeded team in Group E, will have Malaysia, Jordan and Bahrain to contend with while Group F will have three-time winners Saudi Arabia, Thailand, Kyrgyz Republic, and Oman fighting for the knockout stage spots. 

The top two sides from each group and the four best third-placed teams will advance to the Round of 16 at Qatar 2023.

The 24 teams in the tournament are divided into the following six groups are:

Group A: Qatar, China, Tajikistan, Lebanon

Group B: Australia, Uzbekistan, Syria, India

Group C: Iran, United Arab Emirates, Hong Kong, Palestine

Group D: Japan, Indonesia, Iraq, Vietnam

Group E: South Korea, Malaysia, Jordan, Bahrain

Group F: Saudi Arabia, Thailand, Kyrgyz Republic, Oman


Read More:

Team Melli returns Tehran after failing to advance to next round of 2022 World Cup