After Turkey bans Syria, Iraq, and Yemen nationals flying to Minsk, Belarusian state airline announced it will stop allowing citizens of these three nations to board flights from Turkey to Minsk at the request of Turkish authorities.

Iran PressEurope: "In line with a decision by Turkish authorities, citizens of Iraq, Syria, Yemen will not be accepted for transportation on flights from Turkey to Belarus from Friday until further notice," Belavia said on Friday, in a statement on its website.

Also, the Turkish Civil Aviation Authority confirmed the statement, saying flight tickets to Minsk would not be sold to people from the three countries from Turkey.

The move came as the Belarus-Poland border crisis escalates, with thousands of migrants and refugees stranded near the frontier, hoping to enter the EU.

For months, Poland and other EU member states have accused Belarus of encouraging people to try and cross the Polish border in revenge for Western sanctions imposed on Minsk.

European Commission, the EU's executive arm, said it had reached a deal with Turkish Airlines on Friday. All outbound flights to Minsk from Turkey would be temporarily halted to stop migrants and refugees from going to Belarus.


Read More:

Iran criticizes policies of Western countries regarding immigrants

International bodies failed to fund refugees in Iran