The Minister of Industry, Mines, and Trade, on behalf of the Islamic Republic of Iran, signed a free trade agreement with representatives of the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU).

Iran PressEurope: Iran and EEU members including Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, and Armenia, signed a free trade agreement in a ceremony in Saint Petersburg on Monday. Abbas Aliabadi, the Minister of Industry, Mining, and Trade, signed this agreement on behalf of the Islamic Republic of Iran. On behalf of the Eurasian Union, the deputy prime ministers of the member countries signed this agreement.

In the ceremony, Mehdi Safari, Deputy Minister of Economic Diplomacy of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Andrey Slepnev, Minister in charge of Trade of the Eurasian Economic Commission, Kazem Jalali, Iran's ambassador to Russia, and other officials of the Eurasian Union were present.

Following Iran's joining the Shanghai Cooperation Organization and accepting Iran as a new member of the BRICS group at the beginning of 2024, the signing of the free trade agreement with the Eurasian Union is considered another key step in the direction of developing Iran's trade exchanges with other countries.

On May 29, 2014, the EAEU was formally established when founding member states Belarus, Kazakhstan, and Russia signed the Treaty on the Eurasian Economic Union and this treaty was entered into force on Jan. 1, 2015. Armenia and Kyrgyzstan signed EAEU accession agreements in Oct. 2014 and Dec.


read more:

Iran signs a free trade agreement with EEU