South Africa (IP) – The President of the Islamic Republic of Iran met with the Saudi Foreign Minister on the sidelines of the BRICS Summit.

Iran PressAfrica:  In today's statement (Thursday), the leaders of the BRICS group announced that the request of Iran, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Egypt, Argentina, and Ethiopia to join the group has been accepted, and full membership of these countries is scheduled to begin in January 2024.

The BRICS was formed with the cooperation of five emerging economic powers of the world, Brazil, Russia, China, India, and South Africa, with the aim of countering the unilateralism of the United States.

Iran's President Ebrahim Raisi arrived in Pretoria today to participate in the 15th BRICS summit hosted by South Africa.

Saudi Foreign Minister Faisal bin Farhan met with President Raisi on the sidelines of the BRICS summit and talked about expanding ties with Iran as the two countries have set up big stages in recent months to start a new round of strategic cooperation. 


Read More:

Amir-Abdollahian appreciates India's efforts in Tehran's membership to BRICS