Tehran (IP) - Five Muslim scientists have been announced as winners of the fifth edition of the Mustafa Prize award by the Mustafa Science and Technology Foundation.

Iran PressIran news: Ali Akbar Salehi, the head of the scientific working group of the 5th edition of the Mustafa Award, added: "The Mustafa Award 2023 will be jointly granted to Professor Ahmed Hassan and Professor Omid Farrokhzad."

First launched in 2015, the Mustafa Prize honors scientific breakthroughs in the Muslim world.

It is awarded to Muslim scientists in four categories: Information and communication science and technology, life and medical science and technology, nanoscience and nanotechnology, and all areas of science and technology.

The fifth edition will be held in Isfahan in the coming days. This is the first time the event will be held outside of Tehran. Salehi added Professor Ahmad Hassan of the Queen's University of Canada with the research of Mining Software Repositories (MSR) in science and information and communication technology, as well as Professor Omid Farrokhzad with the design of new medicines based on polymer nanoparticles in science, biotechnology, and medicine in this course were selected for the Mostafa Award.

The head of the scientific working group of the 5th edition of the Mustafa Award also said that Professor Samia Khoury from Lebanon, Professor Murat Avisal from Turkey, and Professor Ahmed Fozi Ismail from Cambodia are the three selected scientists living in Islamic countries who will receive the Mustafa Award.


Read more:

Mustafa prize winners; symbols of Islamic society scientific capacities: Official