Tehran (IP)- Former Tehran Mayor Mohammad Bagher Qalibaf has been elected as Iran's 11th parliament speaker.

Iran Press/Iran news: Mohammad Bagher Qalibaf was elected as the speaker of Iran's parliament with 230 votes in favor.

With 230 out of 267 votes Qalibaf was elected as the Iranian Parliament Speaker.

Amirhossein Qazizadeh Hashemi and Ali Nikzad also were respectively elected as the first and second deputy speakers with 208 and 196 votes respectively.

Earlier on the very same day the second session of the newly elected Iranian parliament formed on Thursday with the election of Speaker, presiding board and observance of swearing-in ceremony on top of its agenda.

Seyed Reza Taqavi, a cleric representing the people of Tehran, who had  been elected as the transitional speaker of the Parliament as the oldest MP  said on the second session of the parliament on the lawmakers must guard people's rights and country's independence as their most important duties. 

Taqvi stressed the responsibility of the presiding board to maintain an Islamic parliament which is value-oriented, revolutionary, punctual, which knows  the enemies well. 

Paying attention to the poor and livelihood of people is of the most significant features of an Islamic parliament, he added.


Read More:

New Iranian parliament kicks off

11th Iranian parliament kicks off tomorrow