The United States has sanctioned three senior North Korean officials for their role in the country's nuclear program.

Iran PressAmerica: The US Department of Treasury announced on Thursday: "Jon Il Ho" and "Yo Jin", the deputy director and director of the Department of Munitions Industry, and "Kim Su Gil", the director of the Political Department of the North Korean Army (from 2018 to 2021) have been sanctioned.

The United States on Thursday, December 1, imposed sanctions on three senior North Korean officials connected to the country’s weapons programs after Pyongyang’s latest and largest intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM) test last month.

The US Treasury Department named the individuals as Jon Il Ho, Yu Jin, and Kim Su Gil – all of whom were designated for sanctions by the European Union in April.

The latest sanctions follow a November 18 ICBM test by North Korea, part of a record-breaking spate of more than 60 missile launches this year, and amid concerns that it may be about to resume nuclear bomb testing suspended since 2017. 219