FIFA World Cup 2022:

France star striker Kylian Mbappé is the winner of the 2022 FIFA World Cup Golden Boot award after scoring three goals in Sunday's final against Argentina, bringing his total to eight in the tournament.

Iran PressMiddle East: Lionel Messi finished with seven goals and would have won the tiebreaker on assists had he and Mbappé tied. Argentina won the epic final on penalty kicks (4-2) after the game finished tied at 3-3 in regulation.

Mbappé, 23, is the first Frenchman to win the Golden Boot, though Just Fontaine scored a record 13 goals at the 1958 World Cup, before the award was introduced. Antoine Griezmann finished second in goals scored at the 2018 World Cup. 

Mbappe is also just the fifth man to score in multiple World Cup finals and the second to score in back-to-back finals.

What Mbappé can't say is that he's the youngest Golden Boot winner ever. Germany's Thomas Müller won it as a 20-year-old at the 2010 World Cup. Müller finished a goal shy of becoming the first two-time Golden Boot winner in 2014.

Emiliano Martinez wins the World Cup 2022 Golden Glove

The World Cup 2022 Golden Glove goes to Emiliano Martinez, the first Aston Villa player ever to feature in a World Cup final.



It was Martinez who ensured the game went into the tiebreaker, with an elastic one-on-one save deep in the extra time against Kolo Muani to keep the score 3-3, with Kylian Mbappe starring with a hat-trick.

In the shootout, the Aston Villa shot-stopper palmed away penalties from Kingsley Coman and Aurelien Tchouameni, to set his team on the path to its third World Cup title.

Martinez had previously proved immovable in Argentina’s penalty shootout win over Netherlands in the quarterfinal, with him stopping Virgil van Djik and Steven Berghuis from the spot.

No goalkeeper has made more saves in FIFA World Cup shootouts than the 30-year-old keeper, with four. He shares the top spot with Croatia’s Danijel Subašić and Dominik Livaković, Argentina’s Sergio Goycochea and Germany’s Harald Schumacher.

It's been a whirlwind few years for the custodian who could have played for England at one stage. Until 2020, Martinez was a backup goalkeeper on Arsenal's bench. Having lifted the Copa America with his nation last year, however, he's gone and become a hero for Argentina in the final of the World Cup to lift the Albiceleste's third-ever title. 

Enzo Fernandez wins World Cup 2022 Young Player Award

Enzo Fernandez has been named Young Player Award winner at World Cup 2022.



The 21-year-old was playing in Argentina with River Plate before a summer switch to Benfica and has lit up the tournament with his performances from midfield. Having netted against Mexico in the group stage, he featured consistently throughout the knockout stages, elbowing Juventus star Leandro Parades out of the side. 

The award was brought in for the 2006 tournament – Fernandez joins the likes of Lukas Podolski, Thomas Muller, Paul Pogba and Kylian Mbappe in being awarded the gong.


Read More:

Argentine crowns as World cup champion

Lionel Messi wins World Cup Golden Ball award

Protests against Netanyahu erupts before formation of cabinet