IP- Russia on Friday said it will prioritize the candidacies of Kazakhstan and Belarus into BRICS, as the group admitted six new members at the 15th summit in Johannesburg and has left the door open for further enlargement.

Iran PressIran News: Saudi Arabia, Iran, United Arab Emirates, Ethiopia, Egypt, and Argentina will formally become new members on Jan. 1, 2024, while many more countries are said to have expressed interest in joining the economic bloc.

"Kazakhstan and Belarus, of course, are among our closest partners. Of course, we will give priority to these countries when we consider the further course,” Russian Deputy Foreign Minister Sergey Ryabkov told a press briefing in Moscow.

Expressing that leaders of BRICS, whose current members are China, Brazil, Russia, India, and South Africa, show an “undeniable” interest in its expansion, Ryabkov said Moscow has no doubt that the new entrants will contribute to its objectives.


Read More:

Membership in BRICS an unfinished case in Iranian foreign relations: Raisi

Energy topic to shine in new light after BRICS expansion

China's Amb. to Tehran congratulates Iran on joining the BRICS group