Mar 18, 2020 07:47 Asia/Tehran [Updated: May 18, 2020 21:52 Asia/Tehran]
  • European Union seals borders for 30 days

The European Union will ban travellers from outside the bloc for 30 days in an unprecedented move to seal its borders amid the coronavirus crisis.

Iran Press/Europe: The measure is expected to apply to 26 EU states as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland. UK citizens will be unaffected.

The EU includes countries particularly hard hit by COVID-19, the disease caused by the novel coronavirus, including Spain, Italy, France, and Germany. The decision follows as Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced yesterday that he’d be closing his country’s border to everyone but Canadians and US citizens. Last week, US President Donald Trump banned travel from all European countries into the nation. 

The virus has infected more than 185,000 people worldwide, according to the World Health Organization.101

Read More:

Switzerland put on lockdown amid spreading coronavirus