Tehran (IP) - Iran's Health Minister reported that the secretariat of the health sector of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization's (SCO) members was launched in Iran.

Iran PressIran news: Iran was announced as the official member of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) on Friday, the 22nd summit of SCO member states. 

Bahram Einollahi said on Monday that the secretariat was launched in the Ministry of Health, and soon, the SCO member states would be invited to Tehran to implement the joint plans of action. 

"By activating diplomacy among the member states of SCO, students, professors and doctors will be able to come and go to participate in international conferences, and patients will also benefit from the opportunity," he said.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization was established on June 15, 2001, in Shanghai by Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. Then, India, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, and Iran joined the organization as its official members.