Yerevan (IP)- The parliamentary delegation of the Islamic Republic of Iran met with the Speakers of the Parliaments of Russia, Armenia, and Tajikistan on the sidelines of the Council of Parliamentary Assembly meeting of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) in Yerevan.

Iran PressAsia: CSTO is an international, regional organization whose stated goals are "to strengthen international and regional peace, security and stability, the collective protection of the independence, territorial integrity and sovereignty of its member states."

The organization was established on May 15, 1992, signing the Collective Security Treaty in Tashkent.

The highest body is the Collective Security Council, which appoints the Secretary-General of the Organization.

At the end of the meeting, the Iranian delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Collective Security Treaty Organization, chaired by Russia, met separately with the Speakers of the Parliaments of Russia, Armenia, and Tajikistan.

Russian Duma Speaker Vyacheslav Volodin stressed developing parliamentary relations between the two countries.

The Speaker of the National Assembly of Armenia, Alen Roberti Simonyan, also considered Iran's presence at the meeting as an opportunity to strengthen regional cooperation.

The Speaker of the Tajik parliament, Mohammad Taer Zakerzadeh, also expressed hope that the two countries' parliaments would work to deepen further and develop relations. 


Read More: 

Iran, China, and Pakistan Parliamentary Friendship Group meets FM