Iran’s professional football club Persepolis has claimed the championship of Iran’s Persian Gulf Pro League, formerly known as Iran Pro League (IPL), for the third consecutive year following a victory over Pars Jonoubi Jam Football Club.

Iran Press/Iran news: The Tehran-based giants defeated Pars Jonoubi Jam, 1-0 at the Takhti Stadium in city of Jam, Bushehr Province in southern Iran on Thursday evening.

Perspolis's fifth Pro League title was scored by Croat striker Mario Budimir after 42 minutes, Iran Press reported. 

Perspolis claimed its first Persian Gulf Pro League title at the inaugural edition of the competition in the 2001-02 season. The Reds were crowned for the second time in the 2007-08 season. They clinched the Persian Gulf Pro League title for the third time in the 2016-17 season and their fourth one in 2018.

Read More:

AFC Champions League: Iran’s Persepolis beats Al-Ahli 2-0