Islamabad (IP)- The election for the Prime Minister of Pakistan was held in the newly elected National Assembly. Umar Ayub, the joint candidate of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf and Sunni Ittehad Council, was defeated by Shahbaz Sharif of the Pakistan Muslim League.

Iran Press/Asia:  After voting by the members of the assembly, the Speaker National Assembly Ayaz Sadiq announced the result.  Shahbaz Sharif was elected as the Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan by getting 201 votes while his opposite candidate Umar Ayub got 92 votes.  On the other hand, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam, a major religious and political party in the country, boycotted the process of selecting the Prime Minister.

During his first speech, the newly elected PM of Pakistan faced loud slogans from the opposition desks.


Read More:


Pakistan lambastes Zionist recent atrocities against aid convoy in Gaza