Islamabad (IP): According to Iran press news agency, the proposal to select and announce the tourism city of the D8 member countries, which was proposed by Cultural Heritage, Tourism, and Handicrafts Minister at the meeting of tourism ministers of the member countries, was unanimously approved and in the statement The end was also read.

Iran PressAsia: Introducing and branding the historical and natural attractions of the member countries and creating a kind of healthy competition in this field among them is one of the goals of the tourism city plan.

Ezzatullah Zarghami, the Minister of Cultural Heritage, Tourism and Handicrafts of Iran, had traveled to Islamabad, the capital of this Pakistan, to participate in the third two-day summit of tourism ministers of eight developing Islamic countries known as the D-8 Organization for Economic Cooperation in Pakistan.

In the final statement of this meeting, which was published on Saturday, August 5, the issue of holding a ministerial meeting in a short period of time and reviewing the open door policy in a bid to reach a mechanism for canceling visas on D-8 in the future was emphasized.

In the third tourism summit of D-8, issues such as progress in the comprehensive strategic implementation of Day Hasht tourism from 2020 to 2023, the report of member countries on the development of the travel and tourism industry, clarification of investment opportunities in Pakistan and description of Islamic tourism market opportunities were reviewed and the Islamabad statement on tourism cooperation was approved.

The Group of Eight Developing Islamic Countries (D8) is an economic group consisting of eight Islamic developing countries: Iran, Türkiye, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Indonesia, Malaysia, Egypt and Nigeria.

This group was formed on June 15, 1997 (25 Khordad 1376) at the suggestion of "Najmuddin Erbakan" (the leader of the Islamic Welfare Party and then Prime Minister of Türkiye) in a bid   to strengthen the economic cooperation of the member countries.


Read more: