Tehran (IP) - Iran will hold elections for the Parliament and Assembly of Experts on first day of March. 15,200 candidates will compete for a four-year term in the 290-seat Parliament and 144 clerics will take part in the Assembly of Experts which is comprised of 88 clerics.

Iran PressIran news: Iran's elections for the "Islamic Consultative Assembly" (Majlis or Iran's Parliament) and the "Assembly of Experts"  are scheduled to take place across Iran on first day of March 2024.

Voting for Parliament occurs every four years and every eight years for the Assembly of Experts. 

15,200 candidates will compete for Parliament which is a record number and more than twice the candidates who contested the 2020 election.

The 290-seat Islamic Consultative Assembly consists of 285 directly elected members and five seats reserved for the Zoroastrians, Jews, Assyrian Chaldean Christians, and two Armenians.

On Wednesday, the Guardian Council election watchdog sent the names of the 15,200 qualified candidates to the interior ministry, which holds the election.

Mohammadreza Shahcheraghi, the deputy minister of interior for political affairs and the head of election headquarters, said around 59,000 polling stations will be opened on the day of elections and nearly 800,000 people will be involved in the process of conducting and overseeing the elections. 

Any candidate for elections in Iran must be approved by the Guardian Council, a 12-member clerical body.

The candidates include 1,713 women, which is more than double the 819 who competed in 2020.

The election will be held on March 1, and the new parliament will convene in late May.

Current parliament speaker Mohammad Bagher Qalibaf will run for election from Tehran after winning a seat in the capital Tehran four years ago.

Election for Assembly of Experts

The Assembly of Experts is comprised of 88 clerics who are responsible for supervising Supreme Leader Ayatollah Seyyed Ali Khamenei and appointing his successor.

In a simultaneous election, 144 clerics will compete for the all-cleric 88-seat Assembly of Experts that functions as an advisory body to Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei. Their term of service is eight years.

Incumbent assembly member President Ebrahim Raisi will seek reelection to the assembly in the constituency of South Khorasan province.


Read More:

190k police forces ready to ensure security of Iran's elections