Euro 2024 begins tonight as a month-long festival of football kicks off with a stylish opening ceremony before hosts Germany take on Scotland in the tournament curtain-raiser in Group A.

Iran PressEurope:  The opening ceremony will include a tribute to the late Franz Beckenbauer, the Germany and Bayern Munich icon who sadly passed away in January at the age of 78.

France are favourites for Euro 2024 this summer, with England also heavily tipped, and Germany, Portugal, Spain and holders Italy all in contention.

Germany will see almost three million fans attend games and 12 million people in total descend upon the country across the next four weeks.

Germany would aim to begin their Euro Cup 2024 with a superb outing against Scotland. Germany are on a four-match unbeaten streak coming into the Euro Cup 2024 opener. 

Team Records

Which Teams Have Won the European Championships?

Italy beat England 3-2 on penalties after a 1-1 draw in the Euro 2020 final to become just one of four nations to have won the European Championship more than once. Those nations are Spain and Germany (3 each) and Italy and France (2 each).

In total, 10 countries have won Europe’s biggest international prize – Russia (as the Soviet Union) were the inaugural champions in 1960, beating Yugoslavia 2-1 after extra-time in the final, though several major countries didn’t enter that competition, which wasn’t a ‘tournament proper’ until the semi-final stage.

It wasn’t until 1980 that the European Championship introduced a group stage to the tournament proper and West Germany went on to win it, that being their second title after 1972. They’ve added one other title since, in 1996 – they are one of just two countries to win the competition three times.

The others are Spain, whose 1964 success was belatedly followed by the glory of their Golden Generation in 2008 and 2012, either side of also winning the 2010 World Cup. La Roja’s success in 2012 saw them become the first team to win consecutive European Championships and three major international tournaments in a row.


Read More:

Italy beat Spain 4-2 on penalties to enter final